So I am so sad to say that it has been over a month since I last posted.  I created this blog, among other reasons, as a means of self-expression.  What does it say that I haven’t posted?  Hmmm…

Probably nothing more than the fact that I am a busy mom of two who is just trying to keep it all together.  But, it could also say something about my personal practice. 

What makes a personal, home yoga practice?  Dedication and determination for one.  It takes inner strength and will to get up each day, roll out your mat (literally and metaphorically), and practice yoga.  It also takes the discipline of putting your needs ahead of other things.  There are always responsibilities – jobs, family, friends, events…  But, somewhere, in the midst of all that, we have to find a place for time to spent with our own being.  We have to save time to nurture the one person that is always there, the one soul that when expressed makes a mark on the world, the friend that will always laugh at your joke.

So this is where my “non-posting” reflects on my yoga practice.  I haven’t taken time for myself lately.  I haven’t nurtured my creative side.  I think many times we see taking time out for ourselves as being selfish.  But, in realty it enhances our dharma – our true path.  To really walk our true path, we have to nurture all the things that make us unique – those God-given abilities.  When we live up to our true potential, we are then giving fully to those around us in the world.  Who can say that is selfish?

So, I can say that while I have been busting a move on the yoga mat quite a few times a week, I have not been “practicing”.  I have not been living that 8 limb path of yoga all the time.  But, this is the first step…creative expression and intent to move towards my true potential.  And that feels good.

May all beings be filled with loving kindness.

May all beings be well.

May all beings be peaceful and at ease.

May all beings be happy and free from suffering.

