I started a week-long Ayurvedic detox today that Yoga Journal suggested and gave guidelines for last week.  I could not get myself organized or committed enough to start last week, so I saved all the information and I started today.  It has been good.  The basic 7 day plan involves several self-care techniques, a dietary detox, and yoga postures.

This morning I woke and gave myself a massage followed by a hot bath.  This technique called abhyanga is done by applying body oil in circles on the joints and all over musculature to relax and de-stress the body.  I followed this up with a hot shower…great start to the day.

The base of the dietary detox is kitchariand herbal tea.  I had both of these prepared ahead of time and enjoyed them throughout the day.  Surprisingly, I felt full and satisfied all day.  Even during and after the 2 hour yoga class I took with Kelly Gardener at The Bindu!  This class designed for teachers and advanced students was amazing…I would suggest everyone check her out. 

This evening I was feeling need to munch a little so I did have some steamed veggies, which is allowed on the Ayurvedic detox diet if you feel you need something extra.  I enjoyed the steam veggies with a little salt and pepper.  I have to confess that I did give into one of my weaknesses and had 1/2 of a caffeine free diet Sundrop.  I know!!!  So bad, but I cut out the coffee and wine and any sugars today. I am pretty proud of my first day of detox:)

I will let you know how the rest of the week goes.  I have done many detoxification programs.  My body usually responds well to detox, and I have never had any drastic reactions to a cleanse.  A cleanse always leaves me feeling lighter, more energetic and more focused.  Not only am I eating lighter and eliminating unhealthy choices, but I remaining present throughout your day.  The foods I eat during detox are prepared and eaten with intentions of nourishing my body for sustaining, not for feeding for taste or pleasure or performance.  While I eat, I notice each bite and think about how different it is than what I usually eat.  When I do add something to the cleanse (i.e. steamed veggies or an organic apple), I am so grateful and enjoy those foods so much more than I usually do.

The cleanse is not just a dietary or intestinal cleanse.  It is really a cleanse for the whole body and mind.  It is like hitting the RESET button.  It makes you slow down, appreciate, and create a new baseline for health in your life.   I like that this cleanse includes mindful practices such as yoga, meditation, and abhyanga.  It carries the thoughtfulness of eating during the cleanse into the other elements in my life.  The fall detox is all about acknowledging the business of life and slowing down, restoring the body, and engaging in a slower pace, or at least a more ‘present pace’, for the fall and winter.

I will keep you updated on the progress this week.  The cleanse is intended for up to 7 days.  We’ll see how long I last 🙂  I am feeling a little tired this evening, but at 10 pm that is what I should be feeling!  Getting ready to hit the sack and rest up for what tomorrow brings!

