Hello!

It has been quite awhile.  I could recount all the reasons why I have not blogged in a month, but we are all busy, so you all know why I haven’t been spinning words on WordPress lately.  Not to mention I have decided that I am not a “daily blogger”.  I had intentions at one point last year to post at least 4 or 5 times a week.  I realized that my writing just isn’t like that.  It is spontaneous and from an authentic place that is an outlet for me to express an opinion.  It felt too forced and fake when I gave my self parameters to post daily.  So, here we are without a post in about a month, but I promise good things to come!

I hope that the New Year has treated you all well.  I have been enjoying many new things in the new year.  One of which is a fuller work load.  I am teaching lots of yoga these days and dipping back into the massage-world also.  It is nice to be active in the community of healers around here.  I feel blessed to be part of it.  One thing I have realized while teaching more is that I learn more when I teach more.  Doesn’t sound right does it?  But, it is the truth.  I go to trainings, classes and workshops to learn new things.  I read and research to find more information.  I speak to people I respect as teachers and leaders in my chosen field.  BUT, the true learning, the complete comprehension of the material, does not happen until I actually teach it.  In this way, I am not only the teacher in class, but also student!  And vice versa.  If you are my student, you can also consider yourself my teacher.  This is a beautiful way to look at all of life.  As we move through life, we are always the student and always the teacher: exchanging information, transferring energies, and connecting each other through those exchanges. 

One of my favorite quotes from recent reading is,

“If you want to learn something, read about it. If you want to understand something, write about it.  If you want to master something, teach it.”

Yogi Bhajan

We are all teachers, and we are all students – our entire life.  As a student, I read all the new information and commentary coming out about yoga and healing therapies.  I have typically stayed away from writing about any of the “hot topics” in yoga news.  I do not want my ideas to ever come across as political, one-sided, or controversial.  But, in an effort to completely understand some of the info and stories out there right now, I am going to begin to write about them.  As someone once said, “You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.” (I believe this is a country music song, but I am sure it is someone else’s quote also 🙂 .)  I know I have something to say about the politics of the yoga community right now…hmmm….just going to take a while to get the thoughts organized so they are said in the right way.  More to come…

Look forward to sharing my thoughts with you and I hope to hear back from you with your opinions.  Do you have any topic that you feel passionately about now?  Anything you want me to get on my soapbox about?  The safety of yoga, the business of yoga, yoga ethics, etc.  Let me know.  Would love to hear what you are learning, understanding and teaching these days!

